WhatsApp is now rolling out a new Unsend message feature, which should allow users of the messaging app to unsend a message which they could have instantly regretted sending. In the past I have personally tried swiftly to delete a sent message that I instantly regretted sending, but to no avail. A huge sigh of relief and a big thumbs up to WhatsApp for the new unsend message feature.
— Dipu s james (@Dipusjames) September 18, 2017
How Does it work?
Unsending a message in WhatsApp is fairly easy, however there are a few minor limitations which I will get to further down in the post.
After sending a message to your recipient, to unsend the message you simply click and hold down on the message until you see the trash can icon appear in the menu. When the icon appears, select it and click “Delete for everyone” to unsend the message which will in turn be deleted for both you and your recipient. If your recipient had gotten a notification for the message, that notification will also be deleted. When you select a message to unsend it, there is a second option “Delete for Me” if selected this option only deletes the message for yourself.
You should also note that this unsend message feature works if you are sending a message to a single recipient or to an entire group.
Limitations of WhatsApp’s Unsend message feature
The WhatsApp unsend message feature was implemented so that persons who instantly regret sending a message could withdraw the message without suffering some possible embarrassing moment, but the feature was not meant for persons who want to go back in time and delete messages from a recipient’s phone. Hence, there are some clear limitations:
- You are only allowed to unsend a message within 7 minutes of sending the message
- Both sender and receiver/s should have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on their smartphone.
- Due to the fact that WhatsApp messages are sent in real time, recipients will see your message if they view the message before it is deleted.
You should also note that WhatsApp will notify you when the message is deleted for all recipients, and if the message was not deleted for all recipients WhatsApp will not give you a notification. Also, when you unsend a message, the recipient will see a post that says: “This message was deleted.” This means your recipient/s will know that you deleted a message.
Which Devices Will Get WhatsApp Unsend Message feature
WhatsApp’s unsend message feature will be rolled out to Android, iOS and Windows Phone users who have a device capable of receiving the latest WhatsApp update.
You should also note that the unsend message feature will not be available instantly to all users at once. As of this writing, I am still yet to receive the update on my device. Similar to previous new features, WhatsApp is taking their time to roll out the new unsend feature, and it should reach everyone eventually.
I am personally happy that this feature is finally being deployed, it’s just too bad that they hadn’t done this earlier, I would have personally been saved from some occasional typos and awkward situations among others.
How about you, are you happy with the new WhatsApp’s unsend message feature, or do you think it will just cause more awkward moments in messaging and group chats? Please leave a comment below!